September

Two consecutive weekends of being outside? It does a body good. While I can, and often do, complain about my constant and undiagnosable jaw and facial  pain as of late, it seems that being under a tree canopy and/or fishing are great ways to help me forget that I’m hurting. So is the soma prescription – a generous helper of a muscle relaxer that puts me in such a deep sleep that I actually remember my dreams.

An example of a soma-induced dream: Matt and I were in a new house, one that included separate wings, and the kiddo wanted her room to be closer to us. As the two of us contemplated the many uses of Elle’s then vacant two-story bedroom, our Mexican contractor offered me up a gorgeous plate of cauliflower cheddar mash while his two Russian female assistants apologized profusely for being unable to provide me with their favorite crepes, which can only be had in Poland. Seeing as my jaw and ears were screaming from pain prior to falling asleep, I’m pretty sure the cauliflower cheddar mash appeared in my dream only as a reminder to stay on my soft-food diet (aka How Many F***ing Ways Can A Person Prepare Eggs?).

But back to being outside…

It’s finally not 147°F out there. These recent temps in the mid-80s have me pining for Wisconsin once again. Instead, I headed for the trees. A couple of weekends ago I went to Martin Nature Park in northwest Oklahoma City. The birds were out, and so were the deer. I didn’t get a good shot of the one I did see across the creek bed, but I left knowing she was there and my deer-sighting streak is still going strong.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I emerged from the woods a couple of hours later, drove home to pick up my family, and headed out to a lakeside restaurant where we had dinner. I broke the soft-food diet rule and enjoyed the hell out of some broccoli salad. Later I snacked on two cups on tapioca pudding because, well, I’d learned my lesson. The following day’s meals consisted of scrambled eggs for breakfast, a fried egg for lunch, and egg salad on potato bread for dinner. So, there are at least three ways to prepare eggs while on the soft-food diet…

Saturday morning, after having enjoyed a few decent nights of sleep on the soma, Matt and I woke up at the crack of dawn and headed south with our fishing gear in tow. Lake Thunderbird is just outside of the city of Norman. And it’s beautiful early in the morning. We arrived just in time to catch the fog as it lifted from the water’s surface. Herons, egrets, and ospreys caught their breakfasts and laughed at us as we caught nothing. It didn’t matter, though.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

We saw deer, wild turkeys, a rabbit, and a lot of jumping fish. They were mocking us from a distance as we stood on shore, just begging us to buy a boat – that discussion continues (between Matt and I, not with the fish).

*********

What I’ve read: Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple. It involves Antarctica, Seattle, and snobby, rich moms. While it was entirely predictable, it was really fun to read.

What I’m reading: Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. I started this on my first night on soma and only got to, like, page 7 before I crashed haaaaaard. It’s a historical fiction novel based on true events of the 18th century that include murder and the capital punishment of a woman in Iceland.

What I’m watching: The Killing on Netflix. If anyone else is watching this, let me know. My coworker got me turned on to this series, but he’s only recently finished season 1. I’m well into season 4. I have nobody to talk to about the plots and drama, but my husband does a decent job of showing interest when I start a conversation like this: “Oh my god! Let me tell you about the dead teenage prostitutes!” I need friends.

 

5 thoughts on “September

  1. Love it! I’m eventually going to give Bernadette another try, and will now have another new book to add to the TBR list. Matt’s watching The Killing – I will be bingeing it soon, but only watched season 1 the first time around. (It’s definitely easier to follow it in marathons.)

    • I’m not sure how I feel about season 4 – when you (or Matt) get to it, you may see why. Until then, I can only say that I’m still in shock over how the Rosie Larson murder investigation ended.

  2. Dena – I’m really sorry to hear about your jaw problems that no one, at this time, knows how to fix. Poppie is going through something similar with leg pain. Very frustrating. Will pray for you. I’ve been reading Elizabeth Warren’s A FIGHTING CHANCE. I’m on page 80 and find it interesting but I could easily put it down and never finish it.

    • Thanks! Sorry to hear about Poppie. Answers, even ones you don’t want to hear, are better than not knowing. I hope he gets some relief.

      Read the reviews on Warrens book-pretty good ratings. I never feel bad about not finishing a book, my husband does. I just refuse to waste my time but try later – sometimes it’s my mood; sometimes it’s just a book that’s not for me.

      • There’s nothing wrong with Warren’s book. It’s just not a page-turner. I sometimes don’t finish books, either, or I’ll skim it. Like you, not wasting my time.

Leave a comment