How Thomas Jefferson Ate Salad

April 26th:

nasturtium in april

May 29th:

fbc1ddd9-460f-4ed0-afba-757395ae4148

Nasturtium is the first flower I grew successfully in my Florida garden. In fact, it may have been the only flower I grew successfully in my Florida garden, so it was a no-brainer to include it in this year’s Oklahoma garden. It’s also edible – the flowers, the leaves. I wouldn’t encourage you to eat nasturtium in place of…oh, fish tacos or buffalo chicken pizza or something, but I have eaten it just to say that I did. I wasn’t wowed.

So why did I grow it? Because you have to be a real moron to mess these up. Almost any garden is guaranteed to be a success with nasturtium. Besides, they remind me of doll-sized lily pads and the flowers are so bright and colorful.

Untitled

Thomas Jefferson was also a big fan of nasturtium. It’s been reported that Jefferson, who knew a thing or two about plants, was a little disappointed when he ran out of nasturtium seeds before filling his 30′ x 57′ garden bed. Beginning in 1774, or at least this was its earliest recording, these flowers were a staple in Jefferson’s vegetable garden. They were used to spice up the salads (which I must admit I’m surprised to learn were a “thing” back then). He was apparently keen on a particular trailing variety. Project Find Jefferson’s Trailing Nasturtium has begun.

I’m now half-tempted to create a miniature Monticello in my backyard. It could work.

3 thoughts on “How Thomas Jefferson Ate Salad

Leave a Reply

