Pie Guilt

There has been very little activity in the kitchen lately. A mid-September food poisoning incident was followed by months of eating soft foods only, per my dentist  (I’m a dental enigma who suffers from TMJ and grinds so harshly at night that I’ve actually chewed through an entire soft acrylic mouthpiece), so food – and baking and cooking and, most importantly, eating – has been indescribably NOT FUN.

I have also fallen out of the practice of baking much of anything and, as a result, the oven has seen minimal use. In fact, Thanksgiving is the last time I remember pulling anything out of the oven. I had planned on baking a brown sugar buttermilk pie, like I did last year, but I felt guilty about not having a pumpkin-based dish on our holiday table. The pumpkin guilt beat out the buttermilk pie and now I have buttermilk pie guilt.

We are having a brown sugar buttermilk pie on Christmas. I don’t like regrets. I don’t like guilt. I DO like pie. Added bonus: It’s soft-food diet friendly, so I won’t risk breaking my jaw and face by eating it.

brown sugar buttermilk pie

Brown Sugar Buttermilk Pie (created by Tim Mazurek of Lottie + Doof)

1 basic pie dough
3 eggs
1/3 cup of sugar
½ cup (packed) light brown sugar
2 tablespoons of all-purpose flour
6 tablespoons of unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 cup of buttermilk
1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
½ teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg
pinch of salt

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and add both sugars and flour, careful not to leave any lumps.
  3. Add the melted butter, buttermilk, vanilla, nutmeg and salt until well blended.
  4. Turn down the heat on the oven to 325 degrees and pour filling into the pie crust.
  5. Bake for 45-60 minutes until the edges are set and the center of the pie is still wobbly. Let it cool for at least 30 minutes before serving.

brown sugar buttermilk pie

I will have you know that I actually sent Tim Mazurek a fan letter after I ate this pie for the first time. I’ve never done that before. He was kind enough to reply back and added that the pie actually tastes better the following day. He’s right.

8 thoughts on “Pie Guilt

  1. I had salmonella once right before I went on a trip to San Francisco. It seemed like forever before I regained an appetite. Then I felt the same way about food while I was in my first trimester of pregnancy. This pie sounds like it could triumph those food-skittish moments to bring a little normalcy!

Leave a Reply

