Ginger Crisps

ginger crisps

Actually, these cookies were supposed to be ginger “crinkles”, but I forgot an ingredient, substituted two others, and added honey. If only I could be so brave when it comes to cooking meat and experimenting with mixed drinks.

I’ve been celebrating fall since yesterday when I went to Bath & Body Works with the kiddo and our friend, Liz. I kept putting things in my shopping bag and the employees kept giving me free fall-themed candles! I walked away with four. It was glorious. For the last 24 hours my house has smelled of pumpkin pecan waffles or blackberry spice or ginger crisps. And another friend brought me fresh-picked Gala apples from an orchard in Omaha, Nebraska, so, yeah, I’m very into this fall food thing.

Elle asked Liz and me which season is our favorite. Liz and Elle undoubtedly chose fall for the smells, the pumpkin-everythings, and football (for Liz) and birthdays (for Elle). All three of us are October babies, so I think it’s natural for us to love this time of year. I love fall, too, but not as much as summer and in a strangely different way than I love spring. Don’t get me wrong – I enjoy getting caught up in all the autumn excitement, but the anxiety in me grows as each fall day drags me kicking and screaming closer to this dreaded winter thing. I am better prepared for winter this time around, but I really wish it didn’t have to happen. We seasonal depressives would probably be quite satisfied with a three-season year.

Anyway, no hard feelings, fall. I do love you for all your delicious scents (crisp apples, all things pumpkin, caramel Bailey’s in my hot cocoa) and that I get to wear hoodies around the house at night with my Green Bay Packers fuzzy socks. We even have a hot tub date tonight with our aforementioned apple-bearing friend and his girlfriend. Yay to no more days at 103 degrees – unless it’s the hot tub water therapy bubbles I so desperately need sometimes.

Ginger Crisps

1 cup sugar
3/4 cup softened butter
1/4 cup sorghum
1 egg
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon ground ginger
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon honey
(additional sugar for rolling dough balls)

  • Heat over to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, beat sugar and butter with mixer until soft and fluffy. Beat in sorghum and egg. Stir in all remaining ingredients until well blended.
  • In small bowl of sugar, roll tablespoon-sized dough balls. Place on ungreased cookie sheet (about 2 inches apart)
  • Bake 7 minutes and cool on a cooling rack.

These cookies taste fine on their own (three preteen girls approved) but I imagine these would taste delicious with some kind of pumpkin-based cream cheese dip or even cream cheese frosting.

For ginger crinkles: use molasses instead of sorghum, ground cloves instead of ground nutmeg, and omit the honey.

6 thoughts on “Ginger Crisps

  1. I want to eat the cookies right off the screen. At least smell them. How long before technology will let us do that? On another subject, have you ever tried to load your blog when not signed in? It takes forty thousand forevers, everytime I come to visit, for it to load. Must be the theme.

    • I’m trying to stay away from that Internet Blue shade. It’s all about aesthetics for me. Ha. But I really wonder why there’s an issue with my blog loading?

Leave a Reply

