Enter the Blueberry

IMG_1609

Do you know how hard it is for me to pay for blueberries? As a kid in Upper Michigan, all I had to do was walk outside with an empty gallon-sized ice cream bucket and spend a few hours in the woods picking them for free. It was unheard of to come home without filling up at least half of that bucket. My younger brother, born in the Upper Peninsula, grew up on blueberries and milk sweetened with a little bit of sugar. For the rest of us, blueberry muffins and pancakes were the norm during our short northern summers.

Hmmph, and now I pay for blueberries.

Anyway, after I purchased a pint of blueberries, I teetered back and forth between making blueberry cheesecake or blueberry-maple pancakes. Neither one of them seemed to get me excited. Then I remembered this fantastic cream cheese bread I’d made nearly two years ago back in Florida. I used in-season strawberries for that loaf and actually found myself falling back in love with the fruit I’d severed ties with in my childhood (it’s a sordid tale of food poisoning, Girl Scout camp, and Red Cross nurses – see why I decided to end it with strawberries?). The strawberry cream cheese bread was delicious, and even I was surprised, but my love affair with strawberries was not rekindled.

Enter the blueberry. Or, rather, the blueberry cream cheese bread. Keep in mind you can use your favorite fruit in place of blueberries (I’d love to try a raspberry cream cheese bread)…

BLUEBERRY CREAM CHEESE BREAD

½ cup of butter – softened
1 cup of sugar
3 ounces of cream cheese – softened
2 eggs
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
2 cups of flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
½ teaspoon of baking soda
½ teaspoon of salt
½ cup of half & half
1 ½ cups of blueberries – chop the fat ones in half

  1. With an electric mixer, cream together the butter, sugar, and cream cheese until fluffy. Add eggs (one at a time) then add vanilla.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Blend the flour mixture with the butter mixture first then add the half & half. Stir until creamy.
  4. Drain the blueberries and blot dry. Fold in the blueberries– dough mixture will become thicker.
  5. Pour into greased and floured 9×5 loaf pan and bake for 50-60 minutes at 350 degrees

blueberry cream cheese bread

blueberry cream cheese bread

One thought on “Enter the Blueberry

  1. Pingback: Enter the Blueberry: Part II | Big Blue Circus

Leave a Reply

