Happenings

veggies

If these were the pioneer days and I had been tasked with growing enough food to feed my family, we’d all be very hungry. Or dead. In the last week I have gathered one cucumber, two okra pods, and four sunburst cherry tomatoes. This is what my husband and I would be fighting over with any remaining strength each of us had leftover from gorging on last month’s plentiful bounty – two sunburst cherry tomatoes. It’s nonsense to include my daughter in this food fight because we all know she’d never eat a vegetable.

Other happenings:

  • Schnitzel, the starling, is back in his mama’s nest. I was able to help him return home a few days ago after which I couldn’t stop imagining the little guy missing me just a tad. He seemed to respond to my little hellos until today. Then the smoke detectors in the house began to chirp and he talked back to them. Apparently, Schnitzel has moved on.
  • I’m currently reading Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell. As a sometimes-homesick newbie here in Oklahoma, I tried to read her Floridana novel Swamplandia!, but it didn’t hold my attention. I’ll try again another time. For now, though, Vampires is doing it for me. The short story titled “Reeling for the Empire” left me speechless. No, I take that back. I think I said something like “Holy shit, that’s good writing.” We can’t all be eloquent wordsmiths.
  • My thesis is becoming more and more structured. The topic is becoming more and more apparent to me. I can’t wait to take on the American narrative. If you’re not sure what I’m talking about, you can read this quick summary of Jay Parini’s The American Mythos.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Happenings

  1. As you’re researching your thesis, I hope you’ll share some progress and your thoughts. If anyone can add a new slant to the American Narrative it will be you, Dena! I’m really looking forward to more from you on this topic!!

    1. Thanks so much for the confidence! I will certainly share bits and pieces as I go. The information is so overwhelming and while I know I don’t know everything, I’m still shocked by the sheer number of myths I thought were real. One particular line in a book I read questioned the perspective of our country’s future history textbooks – they’re all written from the white/European perspective (and mostly ignore Asian/African contributions to North America’s “discovery”), but with Hispanics becoming the majority minority, perhaps the truth about Columbus’s reign of terror will become better known. It’s quite exciting to imagine!

Leave a Reply

